Sign up to newsletter


Home / Portfolio Item / Slidin PK and The Junkyard Orchestra

Slidin PK and The Junkyard Orchestra

Slidin PK and The Junkyard Orchestra at the Sin E Club in Dublin

Root music band diggin the sound of 20’s and 30’s New Orleans and Delta Mississippi Blues and Folk. Own material mixed with old classics of Hokum Blues and other being about to extinct styles of that time.

Piotr Kolodziejski ( The band founder) was born in Elblag, Poland in 1976, Piotr started playing guitar at the age of 13. Being 28 years young, he moved to Dublin, Ireland, switched his acoustic guitar for a resonator guitar and began to develop his own unique style drawing inspiration from people and there stories, he is living and playing blues in its purest form.

In Ireland, Piotr is currently working on his solo project, Slidin’ PK and The Band. His music combines elements of Folk, Dixieland, Jazz, Blues, Oriental and African music (specially Nigeria, Mali, Senegal) with his own unique twist overlaid on it.

“I grew up in the communistic reality of Poland in the 80’s and 90’s. It was tough and the town I was living in didn’t give you many options. In a way, I can be thankful now to be born there in this period. It forced many people like me to look for alternatives,. For me music became one, specially music from black people which I believe is one of the most rhythmical and expressive, yet in the same time it carries a great wisdom of a simple life in it’s average but still very rich form. Simplicity, I believe, is the key element to build a clear message and to have the ability to share your experience with people who may need it. Anyway, that is the way I have learned how to live and create. Delta Mississippi Blues from all the black music forms is the one which I identify most with my life and way of feeling”

Go back to Music and Events Galleries

Band members

Slidin PK – Vocal, Reso-guitars, Mandoline, Banjo
Daire McMaghnuis – Double Bass
James Pettit – Trombone, Accordion
Antonello D’Orazio – Tenor and Alto Saxophone
Marek Blaszyk – Alto Sax, Soprano Sax, Clarinet
Tomasz Siarkiewicz – Violin

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.